About Us

    The Capital Winter Club was established and constructed in 1961.  The club is a five sheet facility with viewing on two levels.

    The CWC has a long tradition of sending provincial champions to national championships.  The club has had four Canadian Champions come from its hallowed ice shed.

    • In 1987 Jim Sullivan and his rink of Charlie Sullivan, Craig Burgess, and Danny Alderman won the Canadian Pepsi junior Championships in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.  This outstanding team, famous for its relentless daily practices represented Canada at the World Championships in Fussen Germany in 1988 and won this prestigious international event.  It was a first for the province of New Brunswick.
    • The second Canadian Championship team that the Capital Winter Club has produced was the 1994 Senior Men’s Champions.  In Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan Dave Sullivan’s team (father of Jim Sullivan) of Walter Nason, Rolly Lord and Bill Ayer are the holders of a national senior championship in the province.  The team finished the tournament with an astounding 10 wins and only three loses.
    • Our third Canadian Champion is Andrea Kelly and her rink of Kristen MacDiarmid, Jodie deSolla and Lianne Sobey winning here in Fredericton at the 2005 Karcher Canadian Junior Women’s Curling Championships. The team completed the round robin with a 9 and 3 record and then defeated Quebec in the semifinal 7-5 and Alberta in the final 9-6. That same year the Kelly Team represented Canada at the Junior Worlds in Pinerolo, Italy and won Bronze.
    • In 2014 Wayne Tallon and his Fredericton, N.B., team of third Mike Kennedy, second Mike Flannery and lead Wade Blanchard represented Canada at the highest level to bring home Canada’s ninth senior men’s world title in Dumfries Scotland.At the 2014 Worlds Senior Curling Championships, Team Canada capped off a perfect week, going undefeated! They moved on to defeat Scotland in the QF, United States in the SF and then Sweden in the Gold Medal Game at the Ice Bowl in Dumfries, Scotland.

      Congratulate Team Canada – Wayne Tallon, Mike Kennedy, Mike Flannery, Wade Blanchard, and Chuck Kingston on reaching the top.  The Capital Winter Club is honored to host the banner representing your outstanding achievement.

    Capital Winter Club has a history that is very proud within the province of New Brunswick and Canada.  It has continuously produced provincial champions in all disciplines from the junior ranks to the mixed provincial champions.  One could only expect a club with such a proud heritage and strong membership to have this trend continue in future years.

    Member Login

    Upcoming Events

    Our Sponsors

    cwclogo sm

    Our Location

    232 Rookwood Ave. 
    Fredericton, NB  E3B 2M2

    Contact Us

    Phone: 506.452.0020
    Email: [email protected]

    © 2020 Capital Winter Club. All Rights Reserved. Curling Club Management System and Website by CurlingClubManager.com